Remembering Chicago’s Literary History

Kudos to the good folks at the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame for all their important work in preserving Chicago’s great literary history. This year six writers with significant Chicago connections are being inducted into the CLHOF. They are: Jane Addams, Sherwood Anderson, James T. Farrell, Ernest Hemingway, Langston Hughes and Carolyn Rodgers. The induction ceremony is at the Chicago Cultural Center’s Claudia Cassidy Theater on November 30, 2012 at 7:00pm. You can find out more about the event and the organization by going to

Chicago literary enthusiasts might also want to check out the commemorative plaques of  Chicago writers that the city has placed on buildings. These are:

Nelson Algren at 1958 W. Evergreen Street; L. Frank Baum at 1667 N. Humboldt Boulevard., James T. Farrell at 2023 E. 72nd Street; Edna Ferber at 1642 E. 56th Street; Lorraine Hansberry at 5936 S. King Drive; Ben Hecht at 5210 S. Kenwood Avenue; Carl Sandburg at 4646 N. Hermitage Avenue; and Richard Wright at 3743 S. Indiana Avenue.

A plaque for Saul Bellow, the only Chicago writer to win the Nobel Prize for Literature, is notably missing. I recommend that one be placed at his boyhood home at 2629 W. Augusta Boulevard.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s