2013 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The 2013 class of inductees to the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame was announced over the weekend at the Printer’s Row Lit Fest. The new inductees are:

L. Frank Baum—the writer of the Oz books.

Edna Ferber—author of memorable novels, including So Big and Cimarron.

Ben Hecht—Great Chicago journalist and prolific screenwriter.

Leon Forrest—Author of the novel, Divine Days, sometimes referred to as the African-American¬† War and Peace.

John Johnson—Publisher of Ebony and Jet magazines.

Thornton Wilder—Playwright (Our Town, The Skin of Our Teeth) and novelist (The Bridge of San Luis Rey).

The induction ceremony will be in the late Fall at a venue to be determined. I would love to see some posted comments on these new inductees.