Chicago Writers Association Awards Ceremony is January 18th.

The Chicago Writers Association’s Book of the Year awards ceremony is always a highlight on the Chicago literary community calendar. It is coming up next Saturday evening, January 18 at the Book Cellar, located at 4736-38 N. Lincoln Avenue. I was delighted to see my friend Devin Murphy among the winners. The festivities for this free event starts at 7:00, but seating is very limited. I would suggest getting there at least a half hour early to secure a seat. The winners are:
Traditional Fiction: Tiny Americans by Devin Murphy
Indie Fiction: A Dangerous Identity by Russell Fee
Traditional Nonfiction: In Deep by Angalia Bianca, with Linda Beckstrom
Indie Nonfiction: The Buddha at My Table by Tammy Letherer

Celebrating Chicago Writers

Despite it being a frigid Chicago winter’s night, a full-house assembled at The Book Cellar this past Saturday to participate in the annual Chicago Writers Association Book of the Year Awards. My friend Randy Richardson and his fellow board members always put on a great event, and this year was no exception. All four winners were present, and each read from her prize-winning book. It was nice to see so many of the authors who were honorable mentions and finalists also in attendance. The winners in the four categories were:
Traditional Fiction: The Virginity of Famous Men by Christine Sneed
Indie Fiction: Out the Door! By M. L. Collins
Traditional Nonfiction: Algren: A Life by Mary Wisniewski
Indie Nonfiction: Of This Much I’m Sure by Nadine Kennedy Johnstone
The winner of the CWA’s “Spirit Award” was Suzy Takacs, the owner of The Book Cellar, for being a “tireless advocate for Chicago literature and the people who create it.”