” The Eighth Day” is having a Golden Anniversary Party

Thornton Wilder won the National Book Award for his novel, The Eighth Day, in 1967, forty years after his novel, The Bridge of San Luis Rey, won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1927. In between those years, Wilder, the playwright, won Pulitzers for Our Town in 1938 and The Skin of Our Teeth in 1943. What a literary career!
The Newberry Library is celebrating the fiftieth anniversary and the new edition of The Eighth Day with a reception, actor readings and commentaries on the evening of Wednesday, November 15. The event is free and open to the public. The reception starts at 5 and the program begins at 6. There will even be an anniversary cake. Commentators include Tappan Wilder, the author’s nephew and literary executor; Jeremy McCarter, the co-author with Lin-Manuel Miranda of Hamilton; and Liesl Olson, the Director of Chicago Studies at the Newberry. And the Northlight Theater has cast actors Mike Nussbaum, Linda Kimbrough and B.J. Jones to read. It should be a very special evening.
Registration is required. You may register at https://www.newberry.org/11152017-chasing-wilder-chicago

2013 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The 2013 class of inductees to the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame was announced over the weekend at the Printer’s Row Lit Fest. The new inductees are:

L. Frank Baum—the writer of the Oz books.

Edna Ferber—author of memorable novels, including So Big and Cimarron.

Ben Hecht—Great Chicago journalist and prolific screenwriter.

Leon Forrest—Author of the novel, Divine Days, sometimes referred to as the African-American  War and Peace.

John Johnson—Publisher of Ebony and Jet magazines.

Thornton Wilder—Playwright (Our Town, The Skin of Our Teeth) and novelist (The Bridge of San Luis Rey).

The induction ceremony will be in the late Fall at a venue to be determined. I would love to see some posted comments on these new inductees.